Turbo & Supercharge (Forced Induction) Posts regarding Turbochargers, Superchargers and any other method for Forced Induction.

Re-flashing the EF Sonata 2.4 ECU...done ;).

Old 04-13-2013, 06:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2002 Sonata 2.4
Default Re-flashing the EF Sonata 2.4 ECU...done ;).

So I'm a noob here, but I have something that some folks might be interested in. I can't find any mention of DIY-ecu tuning here, so maybe I have something new to share .

I'm currently playing with DSMs, and my current project is to swap them over to the Evolution 8 ECU. There is some software available to tune these ecus, called ECUFlash. It's freeware, although the cables to tune with vary in price. I made this patch harness the other day, to test my car on an ECU from a 02-05 Lancer A/T:

Now,in the top left corner of that picture is an ecu from a 2002 Sonata A/T, which has the exact same pinouts and nearly identical board inside. It's exactly the same processor, which is what makes this possible.

I took ecuflash 1.34 and my ghetto-hacked DIY tuning cable, hooked it up to the Sonata ECU and got a perfect read using the Lancer protocol . I later flashed the Sonata ecu with the file for my DSM (89 Colt turbo), connected the Lancer patch harness to the Sonata ecu (exactly the same plugs), and fired the car up with no issues.

So, the basic good news is that the Sonata and Lancer ecus are almost the same. The A/T portion of the pinout is basically the same as well, minus a few wires for the TipTronic/SportTronic dash lights. I can't confirm more than that right now, as my car is a manual. The best part of this is that while I haven't put any effort into disassmebling the Sonata ROM file to make it tuneable...someone has already done this for the Lancer A/T file . My thoughts are that the boosted Lancer A/T file could be flashed to the Sonata ECU, and all sorts of fun could be had. The file allows for full tuneability for boost and other mods.