Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Need Advice On A Life Choice

Old 02-01-2010, 07:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2000/Hyundai/Tiburon

Well where to begin, I have been working at a small local restaurant for the past 7 years, since I was 15 years old, over the years i have gotten promoted, and I have now just been given a major promotion as the managing partner of our first expansion store.

For the past two years I have been the full time manager of our first location, at a base salary of $24,000(this is Canadian $ by the way.)

I am very close with the owners of the restaurant, don't really have a choice when you have been the face of the organization for at least the past 4 to 5 years. So the only reason that we were able to proceed with this expansion that we have been trying to get going for the past 2 years was because I said that I will trust them to make there best judgments, and be patient with them.

So when we agreed on all the terms that my new contract provides I was a little put off that I was only given a $2,000 salary increase, I mentioned to them that I was expecting this to be a bit higher but they said that I will be compensated by a $4,000 bonus at the end of every year, starting at the end of 2010, as well once we figure out the legal part of how to include myself into profit sharing, which was supposed to have been worked out with the lawyers 3 weeks ago, but I am still waiting.

So my store has been open for 2 months as of Feb.5, and in my opinion we are doing an amazing job, customers are happy, staff is happy, food is coming out perfect, the place is clean at all times.