Introduction Welcome To Hyundai Aftermarket! We are the worlds #1 most active and Premier Hyundai Forum and Website for Tiburon, Genesis, Veloster, Accent, Elantra, Santa Fe, Tucson, Equus, and Sonata owners! Post in here under the thread that was automatically created for you, and tell us a little about yourself!

Oh no, basic car parts/upgrade questions. I hate me.

Old 01-16-2005, 09:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oh no, basic car parts/upgrade questions. I hate me.

Well, I've been on this planet for 21 years and there are lots of things I still don't understand. I'm not a gearhead, I'm no carpenter, my cooking is the shits, and I have to get my girlfriend to do my taxes.

I'm bad at a lot of things, which is why I have some basic car knowledge questions I would like to have answered. After you all laugh at me, I know I'll still have my dignity, because I had the courage to ask (I won't have my dignity).

So, the questions...

1) Headers - I know what they look like, but what do they do? How does changing your header affect performance? Numbers like 4-2-1? Huh?
2) Underdrive pulley - What the hell is this thing?
3) Cat-back exhaust - Ok now, catalyic converter... Does the cat-back just bypass it for less exhaust gas resistance?
4) CAI - What keeps it from getting plugged up with road garbage and water?

confused.gif
Old 01-16-2005, 09:24 PM

Vehicle: Hyosung GT650

Use search & all will be answered bigeyes2.gif
Old 01-16-2005, 09:33 PM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

1)Headers flow better. Better flow = more power. 4-2-1 generally create more low end and mid range power, while 4-1 increase the top end.

2)Underdrive pulleys spin the the accessory pulleys slower. It takes engine power to power your accessories (power steering, etc). That frees up power. It is also lighter, so it takes less power to spin it the same amount.