Hyundai Tiburon Forum The Hyundai Tiburon Forum. Get all the questions you have about the RD, GK, and FL Tiburon answered here. Find out why the Hyundai Tiburon is Korea's most popular tuning platform.

New To The Game

Old 06-28-2011, 07:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2008/Hyundai/Tiburon GT Limited Edition 2.7L V6
Default New To The Game

Good Morning Everyone. I am a newbie! I just purchased a 2008 Tiburon GT Limited Edition V6 2.7L. I love it. Anyway I live in Ocean View, DE and from what my research shows so far there are NO performance shops out here within 80 miles of my residence, or so it seems. I was wondering if any of you new any GOOD RELIABLE and TRUSTWORTHY performance shops that I can build a relationship with to Tune and Mod my Tiburon, anything close to the Bay Bridge/Annapolis area?

Also I am looking at doing my first addition which would be an Intake. Does anyone have any advice on Short Ram VS Cold Air Intake? Also what manufacturer seems to be the best? I would like to go with an AEM CAI but I called AEM and they said they DO NOT make a CAI for the 2008 Tiburon. Can any of you give this Newbie any helpful advice, contacts at performance shops, or at least good direction for me to move in?

Thanks all and glad to be a part of the community!

Tony
Old 06-28-2011, 08:04 AM
Administrator

Vehicle: ǝdnoɔ sısǝuǝƃ

Welcome to the site. It seems that you're eager to dive into your Tiburon and make things happen.

I don't know specifically about what aftermarket options it has, but I'm surprised AEM doesn't make a CAI for the 2.7 V6. Maybe they just didn't include MY08? I don't see why an earlier CAI wouldn't fit.

Maybe someone else can chime in. I would grab a CAI before a SRI to get as much air into that V6 as possible, but there are risks to CAI over SRI (hydrolocking).

What else are you looking to get? With a few NA parts, I don't know how effective a tune would be.
Old 06-28-2011, 08:09 AM
Administrator

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts