External Appearance Modifications to the exterior of your car. Body Kits, Head lights/bulbs, tail lights/bulbs, spoilers, antennas, sidemarkers, etc.

Installing A Sunroof In A 97

Old 05-14-2005, 10:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 1997 Tiburon

Is there any kind of DIY?

I currently have no sunroof in place right now and would like a power sunroof. If it has no power I'm not going to waste my time.

What do I need to make this work? Where can I get the sunroof from? Can I get one from a junk yard and pop it in? Do I need to do something to stabilize the frame?

I'm a newbie at this and would like as much info as possible.
Old 05-14-2005, 10:50 PM

From what I know about this, its a big pain in the bootay, but I really wanna do it too. Thats the only thing I dont like about my car is the fact it doesnt have one.
Old 05-14-2005, 10:51 PM

Vehicle: Hyundai Tiburon FX

i think it costs close to 1 grand if you want to do it professionaly. you're better off buying another tib with a sunroof.
Old 05-14-2005, 11:39 PM

QUOTE (tanc @ May 14 2005, 11:00 PM)
Is there any kind of DIY?

No
It's basically CUT a hole in your roof and make an aftermarket one fit.
IT'S A BIG PITA

QUOTE (tanc @ May 14 2005, 11:00 PM)
.... I'm not going to waste my time.

I'd suggest that.
For the money AND time you're gonna take to do this,... it'd be well invested in something else
Well unless you're not concerned about money, then hey, go for it.
Just get it professionally done, or be prepared for leaks
Even the pro's sometimes can't get it right, but that's what a warranty is for,...
Old 05-15-2005, 12:15 AM

Vehicle: 1997 Tiburon

If you take your time and right it should not leak and I will proof it to you both, if someone could tell me what exactly I need. Another sunroof from another Tib? What about a different model? I'm also thinking I'm going toneed a new liner.

Someone with a bit more experiance help me out here.
Old 05-15-2005, 01:13 AM

Vehicle: Elantra HD / 2007