Engine, Intake, Exhaust Modifications to your Normally Aspirated Hyundai engine. Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat back Exhaust...etc.

Problems After Spark Plug Swap

Old 05-30-2010, 08:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok so I changed out my spark plugs today and now my car is not starting up. It cranks then puts out this high pitch squeel and dies. I followed a DIY that i got off newtiburon.com. I am kinda new at the whole engine work thing so any help would be great.

A little more info about my car. I have an 07 tiburon SE V6. I used NGK plugs with a .44 gap. I also changed out the the wires. I got the wires off ebay. In order to get to the rear plugs I had to remove the intake manifold and throttle body. I thought I put every thing back the same way I took it off, but apparently I did something wrong. Help please.
Old 05-30-2010, 08:59 PM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

best thing to do is to check everything that you took off to see if everything is hooked up right. Another thing that could be wrong is that you have the cables mixed up on the ignition coil, so check that too. Im not positive what the firing order on the v6 is, so i cant help you there
Old 05-31-2010, 12:25 PM

I went back and checked everything. Even put the stock wires back on. Still a no go. Stalls as soon as it cranks. I tried to tighten plugs, but i didnt wantg to over tighten. When i crank it there is heavy exhaust fumes, along with the squeel. cables are numbered so it hard to mistake those. i dont know what else to do
Old 05-31-2010, 11:06 PM
Super Moderator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 2000 Elantra

1) please use the Add Reply or Fast Reply buttons instead of quoting previous posts unless there is a very good reason to do so. We just read the last person's post once, no need to make us read it twice!