Engine, Intake, Exhaust Modifications to your Normally Aspirated Hyundai engine. Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat back Exhaust...etc.

Elantra RAM CAI

Old 07-07-2010, 05:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2004 Hyundai Elantra 4sp Auto sedan
Default Elantra RAM CAI

Bit of background. I'm an Automotive Machinist by Trade, so modifying engines and playing with cars is not new. I like to get it in and out as quickly and as cheaply as possible.

So this is my Intake. Preface and apology. If this has been done before, "great minds think alike".
If not go do it, you wont be disappointed and it's bloody cheap.

First thing was whack a K&N in. Was impressed by the Trumpet in the air intake upper, Hyundai engineers tick a few boxes with me. I have never seen this on vehicles I've had before. Inc new Fords, Tojo's, Holden's etc.

Then I set about getting that air into the engine, lots of it and cold.
I looked at the AM air intakes avail, and even the 94-97 Honda kit got cold air, but no ram effect.

So "where did that air pipe go behind the battery, down into the front of the guard"?
What was there? Easy rip the wheel off and plastic guard and find out.
There was this box. Where is the intake? Easy rip it out. Well, once you take the plastic inner guard off it is held on with 2 x 10mm nuts. Not so fast, the tube goes into this 'box' and then out on the inner rear side and up through between the front LHS of the battery next to the radiator in behind the heat 'plastic' shield. There is a clamp here. Undo the clamp on the hose and push the hose down out of the clamp.
Tip: It's better to remove the battery altogether when undoing and redoing the clamp, it's do able in situ, but easier to remove the battery.
Tip: Got the security code for the radio?

This shield is to protect the battery and air box, nothing new here.
On top of the hose is a pipe with a curve that sits in this space and this my friend is the air intake!!