Engine, Intake, Exhaust Modifications to your Normally Aspirated Hyundai engine. Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat back Exhaust...etc.

Arc Welder For Exhaust Work

Old 12-13-2006, 03:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

I'd just like to know if a welder rated for up to 1/4" steel would work for putting an exhaust together. I had some welding experience back in high school so I can handle doing it, but I'm not technically up to par on welding, so I figured some of you might know. smile.gif

The welder in question would be something like this: E-Bay Link
Old 12-13-2006, 06:34 PM

Vehicle: 2000 hyundai tiburon

i'm guessing by your experience, that this would not be a good welder for exhaust work (not even by some of the best welder i've ever seen, and i weld for a living). this is a stick welder it would be possible to weld steel and even stainless steel with this machine-... but to stick weld on pipe is hard enough, to stick weld on really thin pipe (exhaust system) is ridiculasly hard. you'd be better off with a TIG or GTAW or heliarc (all the same process of welding). that is the process that most catback systmes are welded with. MIG or GMAW (another process of welding a.k.a. "the squirt gun kind") is what was used on your stock exhaust system. with MIG, it's easier to get a nice looking weld on the outside but is famous for interrupting the exhaust flow on the inside of the pipe.

what are you looking to do weld mufflers and parts on or build a custom catback system?
Old 12-13-2006, 09:10 PM

That's the thing though, stick welding is the only kind I'm decent at. And yeah, I was thinking about doing a cat-back.
Old 12-14-2006, 09:32 PM

Vehicle: 2000 hyundai tiburon