Computers, Gaming, & Technology Here you can talk about anything with circuit boards, or dilithium crystals, or flux capacitors. Show off your technology, computing, and gaming knowledge.

how many build their own pcs on here?

Old 08-15-2010, 09:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how many build their own pcs on here?

wanted to show off my work on my new pc here... so far i haven't done anything, i'm starting on it tomorrow morning though.

i've decided i'm going to paint the motherboard i just bought (msi nf750 g55) white, and then paint the pcie/ ddr3 slots all black. then i will paint the psu white and sleeve the wires all white also, put it into a nzxt phantom case and watercool it, with black tubing. it'll probably take me a month to completely do it, but it will be worth it.

pics of the case i'm using-

Old 08-15-2010, 09:40 PM
DTN

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

I've been working on mine for the last 10 years. The last upgrade I let my girlfriend do.

I wouldn't paint a motherboard. It reduces cooling ability. Also, there is no way to prime the motherboard before painting... Obviously sanding is out of the question.
Definitely stay away from all slots with paint.

Is that a mini ATX case? I always go with large form factor. You can get more for your money in larger size without sacrificing any quality. In fact, usually the best motherboards are full size, not mini.
Old 08-16-2010, 06:18 AM

i know it'll hold in the heat more after i paint it, i don't care, i want everything to be white and black. it must be. and no, that case is a full tower. i have never bought anything other than full tower... my last case was a cosmos s, before that i had a haf....

Old 08-17-2010, 05:37 PM
Administrator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Vehicle: Two Accents, Mini, Miata, Van, Outback, and a ZX-6

Yeah, I doubt a case with five 5.25" bays would be restricted to Mini ATX.