Turbo & Supercharge (Forced Induction) Posts regarding Turbochargers, Superchargers and any other method for Forced Induction.

Twin-scroll, Dual Wastegates

Old 11-24-2008, 08:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2000

Tell me what you think about this.

I want a pretty decent sized turbo for my Tiburon so i have been looking at the garret gt35r for a long time now, but tonight i found one i may want more but it will be alot more work. Its the borg warner twinscroll s300sx. I dont know a whole lot about twin scroll turbos but it looks to be a great turbo with faster spool and flow more than a gt35r. I know that getting this will require a special twin scroll manifold but hey if im going to turbo i might as well go all out right?

Here is a link to the turbo

Now on to another question.

Dual wastegates. What benefit are they, Pros and cons. I have very little knowledge about dual wastegate set ups so any help is appreciated.
Old 11-24-2008, 08:54 PM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

Dual wastegates with twin scroll is a good idea. Just better boost control really. That turbo and setup will put you into getting a custom manifold made for probably around 1200 and overall will easily double your Manifold, turbo, wastegate cost. If it matters to you that is not BB or water cooled which the GT35 will be.

Personally I am shooting for up to 500hp and higher with direct port and I went with a GT35.

What do you have planned for the built motor?
Old 11-24-2008, 09:10 PM

Yes I know the twin scroll will make everything more expensive but i am going to slowly piece it together. The manifold isnt that big of a deal to me since i was thinking of getting one custom done anyway.