Turbo & Supercharge (Forced Induction) Posts regarding Turbochargers, Superchargers and any other method for Forced Induction.

My new turbo heat shield

Old 05-26-2016, 10:45 AM
Administrator

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Vehicle: 2010 Genesis 2.0T
Default My new turbo heat shield

So, I've been on the hunt to find a new turbo heat shield because the stock one that covers the manifold is just this thin crappy aluminum foil one that does jack for keeping things cool.

I found that a few years ago, MAP Performance had built some pretty nice ones for GC owners. I reached out to them and had found out that they were no longer being made due to low demand. So I studied the shield they had for a couple of days by staring at the pics of it and realized I could most likely make my own out of stainless sheet metal.

Got a large piece and went to town. It took 3 different measurements and 4 complete builds to get it exactly how I wanted. I plan to coat the bottom of it with heat resistance spray so it will keep things nice and cool under the hood.

My shield

IMG_20160526_122858--1.jpg

IMG_20160526_122851--2.jpg

The MAP one for reference....not an exact copy, but it's pretty darn close. Their version goes down a little more and they have a couple more notches. They also utilize the 3rd bolt. Mine doesnt so I'm only using the 2 bolts on the top.

FB_IMG_1462903085008.jpg
Old 05-26-2016, 11:39 AM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Vehicle: '14 Ford F-150

Looks good.
Old 05-26-2016, 04:07 PM
Administrator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Vehicle: Two Accents, Mini, Miata, Van, Outback, and a ZX-6

Nice fab work.
Old 05-26-2016, 09:35 PM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Vehicle: 1999 Hyundai Tiburon

Looks great man! Well done!
Old 05-27-2016, 03:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: Hyundai Tiburon FX

Great work Josh! Looks like it cam from the factory.

Did you use TIG welding for stainless steel?
Old 05-27-2016, 06:05 AM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts