Transmission, Clutches, Shifters Posts regarding Transmissions. Clutches, torque converters, shift kits, Gear ratios, Limited Slip Differentals, etc for your Hyundai

M/T tranny owners – how often do you stall out?

Old 01-05-2012, 01:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2004 Tiburon Beta
Default M/T tranny owners – how often do you stall out?

I have been driving a manual for many years and consider myself a pro when driving a M/T but I still have those moments when I’m not paying attention and I’ll lift my foot or something and the car will stall.
Old 01-05-2012, 04:35 PM

Vehicle: 2004 Tuscani Tiburon

I took my old Tiburon on a test drive from the dealer, my dad taught me standard in 2 minutes on a side road, drove it home 5 hours that day no problem and I've stalled it maybe twice in the 5 years I've driven standard.
Old 01-05-2012, 04:44 PM

Vehicle: 1991 Impulse RS

I have 2 autos and 1 standard. The standard rarely gets driven. I find when I drive in 5th for a long time (highway) then exit the freeway, I'll completely forget about shifting! It's like "oh ya, I forgot!" LOL!
Old 01-05-2012, 05:28 PM
Administrator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Vehicle: Two Accents, Mini, Miata, Van, Outback, and a ZX-6

I stall maybe once every couple of months. I have 5 manual transmission cars with everything from a catchy ceramic clutch to a worn out stock clutch. I never kill one on a "difficult" start, it's almost always due to lack of paying attention to what car I'm in and casually taking off in a car with a lower engagement point.
Old 01-05-2012, 06:42 PM

Vehicle: x3

Originally Posted by 187sks
I stall maybe once every couple of months. I have 5 manual transmission cars with everything from a catchy ceramic clutch to a worn out stock clutch. I never kill one on a "difficult" start, it's almost always due to lack of paying attention to what car I'm in and casually taking off in a car with a lower engagement point.