Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.
View Poll Results: sucky pole is teh suck or not teh suck
YES
18.18%
NO
9.09%
PANDA
36.36%
NACHOS
36.36%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

who has a college degree

Old 11-02-2010, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2000 Elantra
Default who has a college degree

well im TRYING to go back to college, that is, if my f*cking house ever sells

got me curious as to how many people here have a degree, what its for, and has it even helped you get further in life

kthxbai
Old 11-02-2010, 10:44 PM
Administrator

Vehicle: ǝdnoɔ sısǝuǝƃ

I have a Bachelor of Business Administration (B.B.A.) with a double major in Accounting and Information Technology.

It is necessary for my career. I'm an Internal Auditor and work both on the financial side and information system side.

My two year plan is to achieve two certifications, CIA and CISA, and I'm trying to decide whether to go for an MBA IT (Master of Business Administration with an IT concentration). Attaining the certifications will put me on par with the rest of the job market, as they've become fairly standard, but the MBA IT concentration will enhance my marketability and hopefully I'll recover my investment within 5 years.
Old 11-02-2010, 10:45 PM

too... many...abbreviations...head....splode
Old 11-02-2010, 10:51 PM
Administrator

I'll share my wife's experience, as it may answer more questions.

She was the manager of a large call center at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Her position was eliminated in a budget reduction layoff, and she didn't have a degree. Though her employer/position didn't require a degree, when she started looking for a job with similar pay and responsibilities, many of them DID require a degree of some sort. She is 3 classes away from completing her Bachelor's degree online through the University of Alabama.