Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Vinyl Plotters / Experience?

Old 09-27-2007, 01:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So I purchased a vinyl plotter the other day and I was wondering if any one on here has or has experience with one and what some of the variations with software are. I have some experience with 2 programs but I didnt catch the title with either but they both seemed similar and easy to use.

I know all of the basic tools like Squeegee's, application tape, all sorts of blades, spray bottles, exacto knifes and of couse vinyl... anything else?
Old 09-27-2007, 04:10 PM
DTN

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

Dude, you have a vinyl plotter? Are we talking a laser plotter or a inkjet plotter?

Alot of people are into corel draw for creating vector images. Photoshop is of course the best image editing software, but apparently corel draw is better at creating vectors more acurately.

So.. I've been meaning to get a Chrome Intakes vinyl made... Hook a brotha up? J/k, actually, I wanted to line the bottom of the door with manufacturer's graphics of things I've purchased and have it in silver. What would you need to make it happen mang?
Old 09-27-2007, 07:52 PM

haha yeah man I just bought it the other day so I probably won't have it here until next week and then I'm going to give myself at least another 1-2 weeks to get everything up and running and play around with it...

After that, you tell me what you want, and we can probably work it out!
Old 09-27-2007, 08:42 PM

Hey man i got a plotter, and can give you a little advice. First off take extra care and be picking when doing the intial set up of your plotter, cause then every different type of vinyl you get to cut will work better, cause you just have to adjust the depth settings.