Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Starting A Small Business

Old 04-14-2009, 08:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys,

I've been running a small business on ebay for a few years now. It started out as a casual endevour to make extra money on the side. Then last year, I increased my sales volume to about 100 or so items per month on ebay, or about an average of $1000 per month in sales. I've now realized that I would love to do this full time, in my own store. This involves me moving back to NY (again), and living at home (which I prefer at this point). I'm thinking about taking out a small business loan, renting a store front, and having my entire inventory for sale in the store, as well as ebay.

I think I have a general idea of what it takes, but where do I start? I have my ideas set, so what do I do next? Any help/ideas/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-14-2009, 08:55 AM

Vehicle: 2004 Volkswagen Jetta GLI

send link to your store on ebay...curious to see if you got anything i need or want
Old 04-14-2009, 09:01 AM

Well, right now it's just tib parts. I'm gonna post a thread later with a list of my remaining parts. But what I normally sell is women's clothing, shoes, and accessories. It started with my cleaning out my closet, and selling it all on ebay. Then I grew my inventory from there.
Old 04-14-2009, 09:07 AM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon, 2004 Kia Sorento, 2010 Kia Soul

I too would like to see. You sure are moving a lot girl. LOL

First thing that I know you need to do, that many do NOT do and eventually get in serious trouble for, is apply for a business license in the city you will be doing your business. The GOOD thing it does is give you a tax ID number and the ability to buy stuff at wholesale, saving you a ton of money. They usually cost less than $50.
Old 04-14-2009, 09:09 AM

Vehicle: 1999 Hyundai Tiburon