Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Need Advice - Orlando Vacation Ideas

Old 04-28-2009, 09:10 AM
Administrator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: ǝdnoɔ sısǝuǝƃ

I'll be going to Orlando for a conference in mid August. I'm considering taking a few extra days and turning it into a vacation.

Because of my wife's medical problems, and my personal disinterest, I don't care to hit up rollercoaster rides. I grew up at Universal Studios, Disneyland, Knott's Berryfarm, Opryland, and other themeparks... been there done that.
So... What else?

It's my first time to Orlando, so treat me as if I know nothing about the city or location.

Current Plans:
Saturday/Sunday - see the immediate area, shopping, landmarks, etc. via taxi
Sunday - Tuesday - Conference @ J.W. Marriott. Not a lot of time to do anything else.
Tues. night - ???? - Change hotels to be closer to the 'action'

[*]Is there a central location I should use for booking the hotel?[*]Do I need to get a rental car for Wednesday - whenever?[*]What are top spots I should consider? Space Center worthwhile or a bust?[*]Beaches reasonable?[*]Downtown / nightlife hotspots? Dinner? Popular strip with bars/entertainment?[*]Things to avoid?[/list]
    I considered Sea World, but paying $150 just to see animals seems a little blah. Anything less than our honeymoon two years ago would be a disappointment, since we went scuba diving and snorkeling with sting rays and sea turtles.
Old 04-28-2009, 09:31 AM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

Well for Saturday/ Sunday I would definitely hit up I-drive (Internation drive) and stop by Pointe Orlando, it's a nice mall there plus they have a place called Wonderworks (Its and up-sidedown building with a bunch of science exhibitions... kinda cool.) and if I remember correctly their is a Ripley's believe it or not a little bit down the road.