Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Freakin' Sad Day Today And I Need Advice.

Old 01-11-2007, 03:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 1999/Hyundai/Tiburon

I've been working at a convenience store for a couple months now until I get my college degree. There's an old guy who came there almost everyday for the past 15 years to get 2 things, 2 packs of Camel Lights and a case of Bud Lite. He was in the Navy during the 1960's and as a Sailor myself, we always talked about Naval stuff and made jokes about some of the stuff we have done while we were in service.

4 weeks ago, he fell off a ladder and he broke a couple of bones. While examining, the doctor found out that he had cancer. Now the cancer is spreaded all over his body.

The store owner simply said "Oh that's too bad". I thought that was very weak of him to do that. His last wish is to just drink Bud Lite until he dies. So I personally came over to Hospice with a case of Bud Lite and a Sailor dixiecup hat that saids "Thanks for serving our country". The biggest problem is that I didn't want to see him suffer and I didn't want to interrupt his family time, so I just told the nurse to drop off the stuff I bought him.

I just don't know... should I see him with a last goodbye? What I'm I suppose to say to him? I mean.. he will die soon... I just don't know what to say...I just feel so down at the moment. I plan on making him his favorite Sandwich and another case of Bud lite; but I just don't know if I want to confront him...
Old 01-11-2007, 04:06 PM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

That sucks, but at 2 packs a day you're kind of asking for it...
Old 01-11-2007, 04:26 PM

Vehicle: 1997/Tiburon/FX

dude pay him a visit, he'd probably like the comfort from a fellow naval member. How would you feel in a situation like that? I mean it seems like he had a simple living life and would appreciate someting like that
Old 01-11-2007, 04:54 PM