Interior, Sound, Security Modifications to the Interior of your Hyundai. Seats, Carpet, Car Audio & Entertainment, interior painting, security, etc..

Capacitor

Old 10-20-2008, 08:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm looking for a capacitor. I was looking at a Power Acoustik 2Farad:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-POWER-ACOUSTIK-2-F...1713.m153.l1262

2 questions:

1. What do you guys think of this capacitor or any other types recommended?

2. I'm pretty new at this, so I don't know if this is normal, but I noticed that it says 24 DCV. How would that work given that we put out 12 DCV??
Old 10-22-2008, 10:35 AM

Almost all of the capacitors I look at have this 24VDC, in their specs. People tell me that it can be used in a 12VDC system. But I really don't understand WHY! Does the 24VDC rating on caps represent the required input voltage for it to operate or what? Does anyone know what this spec represents?
Old 10-22-2008, 11:31 AM
Super Moderator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 2000 Elantra

Everyone starts at complete ignorance. Welcome to the club.

if you operate a capacitor above its rating it will potentially leak acid or asplode. YARLY.

If you operate a capacitor below its rating it will not be operating at its rated level. Theoretically there are some problems associated with this, but practically, you will probably have 0 problems.

Cars use a 'nominal' 12V system. They operate at over up to 14.4V normally, and can see spikes of 16+ if something bad happens. Running a 12V or even 15V rated cap in that environment is a potential disaster.
Old 10-22-2008, 12:01 PM

Vehicle: 2006 Pontiac GTO

The voltage rating on a capacitor is the MAXIMUM voltage it was designed for.

Why do you need a capacitor? Usually that's just a crutch that hides the real problem..
Old 10-22-2008, 12:34 PM

Stocker, nice explanation! A BIG THANK YOU!!!! I completely understand this now! smile.gif