Hyundai Tiburon Forum The Hyundai Tiburon Forum. Get all the questions you have about the RD, GK, and FL Tiburon answered here. Find out why the Hyundai Tiburon is Korea's most popular tuning platform.

Quick Question

Old 07-17-2006, 01:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Veilside Turbulence

just installed headers and a "hi flow cat" which consisted of straight pipe with flanges gutted out clean. i have a flowmaster muffler and a cold air intake...at low rpm the thing sounds like a FN MONSTER but after like 3,000 RPMs my flowmaster lets loose this tinny loud as fu*explitive deleted*ck rattle ish noise but i can guarentee NOTHINGS rattling. i doubt its the heat sheild cuz it would do it all the time then. i think i need a better muffler...anyone got any ideas because i know a hi performance cat (which im ordering tomorrow) isnt going to stop it from doing that.
Old 07-17-2006, 06:55 AM

my MRBP exhaust does the same thing at the same RPMs... and it has since the day it was installed. I crawled upder the car while it was doing it, and it seems to be coming from where the pipe goes over the rear axle. I know I can wiggle the whole muffler and pipe without hitting anything, so it's an enigma to me too...

Sorry <u>I</u> don't have the answer, but if someone here knows the answer, it would help me too!
Old 07-17-2006, 10:17 AM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

Welcome to the world of exhaust system buzz, header buzz if you will.
Old 07-17-2006, 11:42 AM

how do i fix it? its LOUD and well...here

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseacti...deoid=943776900
Old 07-17-2006, 12:18 PM

Generally the header buzz is caused by the walls being too thin. If you get lucky some things will help (resonator, width of piping, etc.) but for the most part you either have to live with it or replace it...................
Old 07-17-2006, 04:47 PM

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon