Hyundai Accent Forum The Hyundai Accent Forum. Hyundai's little champ. While the Hyundai Accent and Hyundai Excel may be small, they respond very well to aftermarket modifications and is among the favorites for Hyundai tuners.

How much HP can I obtain?

Old 02-26-2015, 12:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2008 Hyundai Accent GS 1.6L Hatchback
Default How much HP can I obtain?

Hey guys! Newbie here, so hope to hear as much feedback as possible. I have an 08 Accent GS Hatchback and obviously I have limitations to work with, but I would really like to get some good pep out of it. Mainly when accelerating on the highway, where it can feel a bit laggy.

I have considered CAI or SRI but I have concerns about the check engine light coming on. I did see a Youtube video where fortunately the 08 model is the only model where the mass air flow sensor isn't right at the tubing, so I should be OK but would someone more knowledgeable be able to verify this and if so, should I go CAI, SRI or just a K&N performance filter?

Spark plugs, headers, maybe a performance catalytic converter? I have an automatic, so performance clutch is obviously not a possibility. I'm thinking the aforementioned because it's not a money drainer and really what else more is there to do than add a turbo.......but I'm not trying to be ridiculous. Any wonderful feedback would be greatly appreciated guys!! :biggrin:
Old 02-26-2015, 01:01 PM

Vehicle: 2005 Accent GSI

Hey. So the automatic is going to feel slow no matter what, you can't downshift for higher RPM, so you have to wait for the computers to figure it out and your gearing probably isn't as short as a manual. Apart from that, a cold air intake from a 1999 non-turbo Mitsibishi Eclipse will fit (mostly because it has so many parts you can shape it as needed) http://www.amazon.com/Mitsubishi-Ecl.../dp/B008DJ712U and it's cheap-ish. Exhaust is really up to you - it's expensive and you wont get a lot out of it except more noise.