External Appearance Modifications to the exterior of your car. Body Kits, Head lights/bulbs, tail lights/bulbs, spoilers, antennas, sidemarkers, etc.

Painting Stock Centercaps

Old 10-14-2006, 12:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: car

Ok, so I have my stock 15" rims for my car complete withthe scratches and peeled off paint. I tried to spray paint them, and the paint beaded off, so i sanded them a little thinking that might help, nope. Any tips?
(please don't bash, im new at all of this..)
Old 10-14-2006, 03:56 AM

Vehicle: 1997/Hyundia/Tiburon Fx

Well welcome to (Fu*king with the tib!!!) as to painting there is a few people that can hellp with the paint....sand>>>> prime>>>> paint is all I can say !!!!...and with the beers tonight with the problrms I've had this day I can't find the Screenname but there area few with stock rim's painted they will help....Just wait untill they see the post and you should get some helpfull answers@@@ sry I could'nt help more
Old 10-14-2006, 08:11 AM

Vehicle: 2000 tiburon

i think maybe monoxide just painted his, i'm sure when he sees this he will give ya tips
Old 10-14-2006, 10:06 AM
Banned

i painted my 17s.. heres what you do.. or what i did, and it has held up for ~3yrs..

get 4 cans duplicolor wheel paint in the color of your choice.
2 cans duplicolor wheel paint clear coat.

i sanded down my rims with 400 grit, then 600, and a lil 800 grit. i wanted them with a light texture for paint to stick the best..

best to paint your rims with the tires off, but if tires are still on, just tape em off. paint a BUNCH of thin coats, wait 10 min before each new coat. after the front and back of rims are coated, you can spray on some medium coats. after you are satisfied, throw another couple coats on the rims.. wait overnight, and then wetsand with like 1200-1500grit. and throw on a couple coats of clear, wait another 24 hrs, and voila.. you have painted rims that look professional, and will hold up a long time.