Computers, Gaming, & Technology Here you can talk about anything with circuit boards, or dilithium crystals, or flux capacitors. Show off your technology, computing, and gaming knowledge.

If you were to start your career in IT right now, what kind of job would you aspire..

Old 06-21-2011, 01:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2000 tibby
Default If you were to start your career in IT right now, what kind of job would you aspire..

to fill?
Old 06-21-2011, 01:14 PM
Administrator

Vehicle: ǝdnoɔ sısǝuǝƃ

I've been HEAVILY contemplating a career change for myself.

I'm looking into becoming an Oracle DBA. I actually talked to one of our senior DBAs yesterday to discuss his experiences and suggestions for entering the field.
Old 06-21-2011, 01:44 PM

Vehicle: 1997 hyundai coupe

i USED to be a web designer. but had to get a management job in order to get a bigger pay check. now i want to go back to being a web designer

if i were permitted to get a career "reset" without having to sacrifice salary, i'd go for the following:
  1. Flash / Flex developer
  2. PHP / AJAX / JAVA developer
  3. Interface designer
  4. Digital Illustrator
Old 06-23-2011, 02:55 PM
DTN

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

If you're going to look for a job in IT, you must secure a nitch. Something with low overhead, low supply, or high demand. Generally things in high demand get filled in a few years.. Web design for example, it used to be a good job, now everyone's a web designer.

So here's my list:

1. "indie" developer, android apps, java desktop apps

2. Security professional / Pen tester

3. Linux/Database adminsitrator

Those all have low overhead, require specialized training and will be in demand for a long time. Large companies tend to pay software developers very little. So, indie seems to be the way to go. The mobile market is picking up.