The Char Pit Post all rants & flames in here. No personal attacks will be allowed though.

My Professor Sucks Ass!

Old 11-18-2005, 06:10 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 01 Tiburon Turbo, 99 Tiburon F2E, 2013 Avalon XLE Touring

This is probably extremely lame to you all, but it has been annoying me for quite some time at school.

I'm an Architecture student and we have a project in which to put a museum on a small site. Well, the only tree there is a fairly large Pecan tree. The Pecan tree is native to Texas and is the state tree.
Here is the pic: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/Sha.../DSCN1940-2.jpg

So, while others scrape the land and build over it, I try to preserve it and design "around" it. My professor says nothing about it for quite a while. Then we have a critique with jurors to evaluate our progress so far.
The juror immediately says that I shouldn't design my building around something that lasts only 75 years is already mature. I'm like, "huh? It only lives 75 years?" He says yes, and my professor agrees, except maybe adding another 25 years. I still don't believe them, so I go to work and investigate.

I found that some sites say that they, on average, live to be 200-300 years old. Some are found throughout the US to be over 500. So I'm like cool, I've got some facts to counter their opinions on me keeping it.

I go in today, and he mentions something about the tree. He then says how "sickly looking" it is. WTF? It looks pretty nice/green to me. I speak up and tell him what I learned. He then basically says BS and that I was probably looking at another species of Pecan. WTF?!?!