Braking, Wheels, Tires, Suspension Modifications to Brake Rotors, Calipers, Wheels, Tires, Springs, Struts, Coilovers, Swaybars, Strut Tower Braces, etc.

Gonna give my Tib a brake job

Old 05-06-2004, 01:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Gonna give my Tib (RD2) new front rotors/pads and new rear pads next weekend, anything I should look out for? I've never done a brake job on a Hyundai before. Anyone remember what tools where needed? Any hidden pain in the arse complications that come up?

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-06-2004, 01:57 PM

depending on how long your rear rotors have been on the car and what kind of weather they have seen, i.e. snow and salt. you might have a tough time getting them off. the shop that did my brakes had to take a torch and sledge hammer to break the rears off, they came off in pieces. they had never seen rotors that bad before.

other than that, it is a basic brake job.
Old 05-06-2004, 05:47 PM

Vehicle: 2K Tib

Ummm, you'll need a C-clamp or equivelent to compress the front calipers. An the rears compress by turning and pushing. Needle nose pliers work well for the rear calipers if you don't have the special tool.

Front rotors for a 00-01..you'll need an impact screw driver to remove the screws from the rotor center, if they havent been before (I just took mine off so trust me, it's more that just a screwdriver and you don't want to strip the heads). If the rotors are kinda stuck..pull with your hand while tapping the wheel stud gently with a hammer. Alternate side to side top to bottom and tap the opposite stud...be patient, it will break loose eventually.

Clean off as much rust from the front drive hubs and studs as possible (a dremmel tool makes it faster but a regular brass or steel wire brush will work too) and the new rotors should slide on fully with out problems.

Reinstall the screws in the rotor face if you want, or leave them off. I put mine back in, since my Konigs fit over them.
Old 05-06-2004, 06:19 PM