Braking, Wheels, Tires, Suspension Modifications to Brake Rotors, Calipers, Wheels, Tires, Springs, Struts, Coilovers, Swaybars, Strut Tower Braces, etc.

Finally getting Rims & Tires

Old 06-16-2004, 10:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Okay.

So I found a shop on eBay that has the rims I want and will ship at a fair price.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...me=STRK:MEWA:IT

However, I still need new tires, so I found some Yokohama Avid H4 205/40/17 (w/ a Speed Rating of 130MPH (H))? I need advice on if these are good tires. They'd be $300 shipped. If I go this route then I will have rims and tires sitting at my house and I'd need to go find some shop to mount and balance and whatever, which would cost extra money...

- So sub question, what are some good well known places that do this kinda stuff, mount tires on rims that you didn't buy from them?

Also, the auction for the rims, say I need Tuner Lugs??? Umm, total newbie here so explain and tell me where I can get these cheap.

---------------
My other option is to buy the rims from the store on eBay, and then shop around at a tire store and get them to mount and balance and warranty it. I looked on DiscountTire.com and found some cheap Kumho Ecsta 711 (205/40/17) tires...these any good?

I'm leaning towards this way, so that I get the mounting and balancing and warranty along with the tires.. It's easier, but I may sacrifice on ride/performance, I dunno.

Help me out with any insight, or questions, cuz I may be unclear.
Old 06-17-2004, 04:18 AM

Yes, you will need tuner lugs for that rim. Tuner lugs can probably be purchased from any performance shop.
Most respectable shops will, mount and balance tires, even if you didn't buy from them.
Yoko H4's are ok tires, yes they are H rated.
Do more research on the tires you want, and what you are going to use them for, i.e. racing? or just everyday driving.
Also check how the tire is in the rain.
Old 06-17-2004, 05:38 AM