Braking, Wheels, Tires, Suspension Modifications to Brake Rotors, Calipers, Wheels, Tires, Springs, Struts, Coilovers, Swaybars, Strut Tower Braces, etc.

Damn Chiltons Manual... Need Help Now.

Old 07-31-2005, 06:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 1999/Hyundai/Tiburon

I'm pretty touchy when it comes to maintenance,, unfortunatly i'm not a good mechanic. So i have to rely on instructions with pictures.
The CHiltons manual saids that my Rear WHeel bearings are not sealed and so I needed to grease them periodically. So I went to the Self Serve AUto Hobby shop took the air gun unbolted the wheel nuts, took the 2 caliper bolts out and took out the big nut int the middle(don't know whats it called). THere was not a cottter pin or anything like the manual stated.. but there was a crease. I popped the crease out and it was a snap to take out the bolt.

I took out my fresh valvoline wheel bearing grease and held the wheel bearing holder and the wheel bearing on the inside.. trying to find out how to pop it out.... but the employee there said that it was sealed bearings.

so after all that.. i had trouble putting in the big nut in the middle..i looked at the threads on the nut and the spindle and the spindles threads was messed up bad. So i tried my best to put the nut in , the air gun was having a tough time. It took 15 minutes with the air gun on full blast to thread it in. after i assembled it I had shaken the wheel and it had very little play on it. and now i'm worried about it. I took a test drive going 65 MPH and I felt no vibration. I'm afraid in the long wrong something is going to go bad.... any thoughts?
Old 07-31-2005, 06:54 PM

it sounds like you have disk brakes in the back. what you were trying to do is for drum brakes. i had to do it like a month ago. i could be wrong though.
Old 07-31-2005, 11:44 PM

Vehicle: 97 Tib

Rear wheel bearing are not pressed, only the front ones are.