Braking, Wheels, Tires, Suspension Modifications to Brake Rotors, Calipers, Wheels, Tires, Springs, Struts, Coilovers, Swaybars, Strut Tower Braces, etc.

Clutchmasters Stage 1 Clutch

Old 09-24-2002, 12:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutchmasters Stage 1 Clutch

Well, after examining what people were saying about different manufacturers, and puttering along on my existing stock clutch for way too long, I got my hands on a Clutchmasters Stage 1 clutch. Order it from Nopi Online. Got here in about 2 days, so I can't complain about the wait. What I can complain about, however, is the lack of places in San Diego willing to do the job. Most of the aftermarket shops wouldn't even touch the job, let alone give me a price quote. Finally found a place in Clairemont Mesa (That's in San Diego, CA for those not in the know) that specializes in transmissions. So for about $270, they'll pop out the old clutch, resurface my flywheel, and stick in the new clutch. Can't wait for tommorow. I'll let you guys know the prognosis.

[ September 25, 2002, 02:35 AM: Message edited by: Kidd Supreme ]
Old 09-24-2002, 01:21 PM

Is the CM stage one "better" than the KOmpetREs Stage 2 clutch? Is a NEW flywheel required when doing a clutch swap into either of the above?
Old 09-24-2002, 07:34 PM

Well from what I understand (please don't take my word for gospel, I'm only venturing my best guess) unless you have a damaged flywheel, getting a new clutch does not require a new flywheel. It does, however, require that the existing flywheel be resurfaced so that the new clutch can adhere to it properly. You could also, at this time, swap out the flywheel with a lightened flywheel (think Fizanda *sic*). By adding the lightened flywheel, you cut down on rotational mass, which in turn allows your engine to get to higher rpms faster. As Random noted a while ago though, this is a two way street. While you will get through the rpm faster, when you shift, the rpms will drop as quickly.