Transmission, Clutches, Shifters Posts regarding Transmissions. Clutches, torque converters, shift kits, Gear ratios, Limited Slip Differentals, etc for your Hyundai

1st to 2nd Gear Grinding

Old 03-05-2011, 12:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Vehicle: 02 Hyundai Accent
Default 1st to 2nd Gear Grinding

I should kick myself in the ass for not getting to this sooner but it looks like I fixed my 1st to 2nd gear grind that alot of us have. Back in June when my engine was out I noticed that the bushing on the end of the black shift cable was no longer round but oval. This made the up/down throws of the shifter sloppy an most likely misaligned. Fast forward to today, a week or more after putting RedLine MT90 in my trans it was still grinding. I figured it was way to late for the RedLine treatment, ive been grinding since about mid 2007. Then it hit me, I had all but forgotten about that shifter bushing. So over to All Hyundai Auto Recyclers I went. It was a very long journey to say the least but if the new shift cable will fix my issue then it would be well worth it. So I left work and hit the road, 3-4 minutes later I arrived at the recyclers, what a freaking journey lol. I asked Justin for the shift cables and we went looking, found a pair from an 04 Accent already pulled sittin on the hood that looked near new, SCORE! Now here is a great piece of info he told me after he said I was lucky to find a set. He said that about half of the older hyundai/kia manual transmissions that come in have that same bushing worn out and even some of the newer ones as well. Also the ones that are good dont stay in stock to long cause he sells them all the time. He also said he has seen some crazy rigged sh*t done to try an fix it.