Nitrous Oxide (NOS, Zex, NX Express, Venom, etc) This forum is for Nitrous Oxide discussions, and an area for folks to ask questions about Nitrous Oxide and related parts.

age old question

Old 02-01-2010, 09:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2000 Yellow Tib
Default age old question

Someone please tell me:
Does Nitrous kill a stock engine? Ive heard different things from every single different person i've talked to. If yes, what do I need to do to make my engine "nitrous worthy"? Also, whats a better kit for an RD Automatic? Zex, or NOS, Thanks everyone, this may sound like a dumb question, but im just getting into this, everyone was at this point once, so help me out, thanks.
Old 02-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Administrator

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Vehicle: 2010 Genesis 2.0T

Nitrous doesn't kill motors. Moron's kill motors.

Properly installed, properly maintained, it works just fine.

If you install a 200 shot dry, yes it will kill your motor. I might as well try to run 25 PSI of boost!

If you install a 75 shot to kick in at 1500 RPM, it will kill your motor. (To much too soon)

If you have not tuned your motor in 50,000 miles, and your plugs, wires and coil pack are shot, and 3 of your 4 injectors are clogged...you will kill your motor.

If your Nitrous is installed properly, and used intelligently, and your engine/tranny is properly maintained...the it is just as safe as turbo charging and supercharging.

Do it in the right order..the right way, and use it properly. It will work fine. The "general" rule of thumb is never increase the engine's HP by more than 50%. On our 140 HP cars...that means you COULD do a 75 shot. Realisticly...if 50% is the LIMIT...going a little lower is safer. So most run a 65 or 50 shot.

The other rule of thumb is never add more than 50% dry. "Dry" nitrous only sprays the gas Nitrous Oxide. "Wet" setups spray the gas, plus the needed fuel for that extra oxygen.