Hyundai Elantra Forum The Hyundai Elantra Forum. Later models (96-up) of this 4-door share their Beta engines and chassis with the Hyundai Tiburon. Earlier Mistubishi-based Hyundai Elantras (92-95) are perfect candidates for the popular 4g63t motor swap, which turns the Hyundai Elantra into a real sleeper. These characteristics make the Hyundai Elantra a great car for those who want sports car performance with family car flexibility.

New guy looking for advice

Old 01-23-2018, 01:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: 2007 Elantra
Default New guy looking for advice

Hello. I currently have an 07 Elantra 2.0/5 speed. I have access to several dealer take-out warranty replacement 2.0/2.4 Theta ( I believe) turbo engines for super cheap (almost free) from a friend. He told me that if they burn any oil at all or, have so much as a tick, they are replaced under warranty. I am a mechanic but, don't have much experience with Hyundais. I'm generally a GM guy but, the more of these Kias and Hyundais I work on, the more I like them. They're easy to work on, reliable, and fairly powerful for what they are... Back to the subject, I've got access to these powerplants, I've got a little Elantra, and can't help but consider the possibilities. I'm really considering putting one of these newer, turbo engines into my HD Elantra. I would really appreciate any input, advice and ideas from you, more experienced guys on this subject. Can I use my transmission? I'm thinking my best bet would be a wrecked sonata or, at least the wiring and ecm/pcm, just don't even know where to begin. Thank you.
Old 01-23-2018, 05:57 AM
Administrator

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Vehicle: 2010 Genesis 2.0T